We are happy to announce the Second edition of the València International Bayesian Summer School (VIBASS2) that will take place from the 16th to the 20th of July 2018 in València (Spain).

VIBASS2 is a 5-day summer school that offers an opportunity to be introduced into Bayesian reasoning without previous knowledge in the subject.

The first two-days (12 hours) will comprise an introduction to Bayesian learning, with conceptual and practical sessions with R packages in the afternoon.

The next 2-days will be focused on a particular topic. This edition is dedicated to Bayesian modeling with BayesX. This course (12 hours) is provided by Nadja Klein (University of Melbourne, Australia) and Nikolaus Umlauf (Universität Innsbruck, Austria).

Finally, the last day will be devoted to the Second VIBASS Workshop. We will have two plenary sessions with invited speakers: Paloma Botella (Conselleria de Sanitat Universal i Salut Pública, València) and Luigi Spezia (Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland, BioSS). Attendants to the school are encouraged to present posters based on their work.

VIBASS2 is organised by the VABAR research group (Universitat de València) and supported by Universitat de València and Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland, BIOSS. More information about the summer school can be found here:


Faculty of Mathematics, Universitat de València, Burjassot (València), Spain

Registration is available through the following link:


Registration fees in euros (Before, After 15th May 2018)

FULL PARTICIPATION: Basic course, BayesX course, and Workshop.
Student 260, 320
Academia 375, 475
Industry 500, 650

PARTIAL PARTICIPATION: BayesX course and Workshop

Student 200, 260
Academia 300, 400
Industry 400, 550

Registration includes: coffee and orxata breaks, lunches, documentation, summer school dinner (Thursday 19th) and participation in the Second VIBASS Workshop.

Carmen Armero (Universitat de València, Spain)
Mark Brewer (Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland, BioSS, UK)
Maria Eugenia Castellanos (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain)
David Conesa (Universitat de València, Spain)
Anabel Forte (Universitat de València, Spain)
Virgilio Gómez-Rubio (Universidad Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)
Facundo Muñoz (CIRAD, France)