Section on Bayesian Nonparametrics – Bylaws 

 1.  The name of the section:

“Bayesian Nonparametrics” section of ISBA (short ISBA/BNP)

2.  The purpose of the section:

To promote research in nonparametric Bayesian inference by organizing workshops and sessions in other meetings.

3.  The offices, duties and terms of offices:

The Program Chair, Treasurer and Secretary are elected by the membership for staggered two year terms. The Chair is elected for a 3 year term, serving successively as Chair-Elect, Chair and Past-Chair.  The Chair, Chair-Elect, Past-Chair, Treasurer, Program Chair and Secretary form the Executive Committee (EC) of the BNP section. The EC will follow the general policies established by the ISBA Board and will conduct the affairs of the section between meetings of the Board.

The ISBA/BNP Executive Committee shall report to the Board at each Board meeting. The report can be in writing.

The Section Chair chairs meetings of the Executive Committee and the Section Membership. The duties of the secretary, treasurer and the program chair are as described in item 4.B through D of the ISBA constitution, but restricted to the section.

The right to enter into legal contracts for ISBA or ISBA/BNP is vested solely in the ISBA Executive Committee.

5.  How elections of section officers are to be conducted:

Each year a five-member Section Nominating Committee will nominate candidates for Section offices. Three members of the Committee will be elected by the Section Executive Committee based on suggestions from the Section membership. To facilitate this process, for every election year, the Section Chair will request suggestions from the Section members. The Section Executive Committee will elect three members from the suggested names and appoint one of the three members as Chair of the Section Nominating Committee. The remaining two positions in the committee will be filled by the two current officers who will be replaced in the upcoming election. The Section Nominating Committee selects and gets consent to stand for election from, at least two candidates for each office. The Section slate must be provided to the ISBA Executive Secretary by August 15th. The term for all offices starts on January 1 following the election.

6.  How membership in the section is defined:

Any ISBA member who pays the section membership fee is a member of the section. The section membership fee is set by the BNP Executive Committee and approved by the ISBA Board by resolution.

7.  The method of amendment of the bylaws:

The Section Bylaws may be amended by majority vote in two successive Board meetings, with at least a two-week interval between the meetings.

The Secretary submits yearly reports of section activities to the ISBA Board. The section shall be considered inactive and dissolved by the ISBA Board by resolution if no report is submitted for 2 consecutive years, or no elections take place within 4 years.

Provisions in the ISBA Bylaws and Constitution shall apply for any issues that are not specifically addressed in the Section Bylaws. In case of conflict ISBA Bylaws and Constitution take precedence over the Section Bylaws. Section Bylaws take precedence over resolutions of the ISBA Board.

Approved: April 2013, Updated:  ?, 2017